Prize

9 Project Spaces
9 Nominees
9 Solo Exhibitions

The sixth edition of the Berlin Art Prize launches with a new exhibition concept: this year’s nominees will present their work in solo exhibitions in collaboration with nine of the city’s project spaces. Taking place simultaneously in September, the nine exhibitions will be accompanied by a discursive supporting program of events. With this, the Berlin Art Prize e.V. expands and shifts its role from a prize for new art to become a collaborative project with the independent scene.

Trophy by Saâdane Afif
Residency at 80121 Napoli

After an anonymous selection process, a five-person jury will choose nine nominees to present their work in nine solo exhibitions in Berlin project spaces. Three winners of the Berlin Art Prize will receive a residency, prize money, and a trophy designed for the occasion. The application deadline was April 30, 2019. The nine nominees will be announced in July. Meanwhile the jury is at work…

Jury

Julieta Aranda (artist and writer)
Krist Gruijthuijsen (curator and writer)
Käthe Kruse (artist)
Henrike Naumann (artist)
Laurie Rojas (art critic)

Project Spaces

Application

All artists living in Berlin for the last six months can apply.

Application deadline: April 30, 2019 at midnight
Nominee solo exhibitions: August 30/31–September 27, 2019
Award ceremony: September 27, 2019

Application fee: 10 €
Nominees receive 1500 € for their participation in the exhibition.

 

I. Submission

Applicants should submit a selection of their own work. Please submit a maximum of five works. It is not necessary to develop new works for the Berlin Art Prize – works should already exist and produced within the last five years. The deadline is April 30, 2019 at midnight.

You can only apply for the Berlin Art Prize via email. Please send documentation of a maximum of five works, with up to four images of each work, in one PDF (maximum 15 MB). If your application includes video or sound files, please send these via WeTransfer or a similar provider. The corresponding link should be inserted into the email with the application, please do not insert the download link into the PDF file or into a separate email. Please only send video and sound files if they are the artwork, not as documentation.

Please do not send a CV. An optional statement can accompany the submitted artworks. The statement can be a general description of your artistic position or it can be about individual works. We suggest the following: circa 100 words on your general artistic practice and a clarification of individual works of up to 75 words per artwork. This text should not be longer than a page. Please include it within the portfolio PDF.

For purposes of anonymity, do not put your name in your portfolio or the descriptive statements. Any applications containing the artist’s name or any references to specific galleries, curators, exhibitions, awards, schools, etc. will be disqualified. It is acceptable to simply black out the name and/or replace it with “the artist,” “the location,” or “the university,” etc.  in texts about the work.

The application should contain following:

a) The portfolio (and the optional statement and work descriptions) as a single PDF.

Please do not include your name anywhere in this file – only the title of the file should contain your name (FirstNameLastName). This format ensures that we are able to easily anonymise the file, which is an important aspect of the prize. This file should be named:

FirstNameLastName_Portfolio
Ex: SofiaSmith_Portfolio

b) The completed application form as a PDF (download under “Apply” on the website). This should be named:

FirstNameLastName_Application
Ex: SofiaSmith_Application

c) If you send video or sound files via WeTransfer, the link should be included in your email, not your portfolio. Video and sound files should be named:

FirstNameLastName_Title of Work
Ex: SofiaSmith_Title of Work

d) A screenshot documenting your payment of the administrative fee as a PDF or JPG. This should be named:

FirstNameLastName_Fee
Ex: SofiaSmith_Fee

All data of applicants will be kept strictly confidential! Closing date for applications is April 30, 2019. Please send the application documents bundled in a single email to:

apply(at)berlinartprize.com

Any further questions regarding the Berlin Art Prize can be addressed to: contact(at)berlinartprize.com, please only email your application to apply(at)berlinartprize.com

Administrative Fee

For the realization of the Berlin Art Prize we are dependent on your application fee. Your fee of ten Euro goes towards the costs of the jury sittings, materials, and organizational infrastructure. The fee can be transferred via Paypal or a bank transfer.

Please upload a screenshot of your ten Euro payment confirmation as a JPG or PDF along with your application email. Applications without proof of payment cannot be considered. Please name the screenshot FirstNameLastName_Fee (ex: SofiaSmith_Fee)

If you have exceptional financial difficulties and are unable to afford the 10 Euro administrative fee, please contact us at financialdifficulties@berlinartprize.com by April 27, 2019 at the latest with a brief explanation. We are able to waive the fee in a limited number of situations. Please note that you need a confirmation from the Berlin Art Prize if you apply without a fee. Without confirmation, the application is unfortunately invalid.

We are extremely grateful for any additional donation above the ten Euro fee. Donations are tax deductible.

Payment information:

Fee: ten Euro

PayPal: paypal@berlinartprize.com

Bank:Berlin Art Prize e.V.
EthikBank
BLZ: 83094495
Kontonummer: 3237516
BIC: GENO DE F1 ETK
IBAN: DE84830944950003237516

 

II. Selection

After the applications are received, an initial selection of approximately fifteen artists will be made using an anonymous method. All candidates will be notified by May 31, 2019 if they have been chosen for the long list. Applicants will be informed via the email address they applied with.

In order to guarantee that the jury can view the original works before nominating the artists for the Berlin Art Prize 2019, for the second selection phase members of the jury and the Berlin Art Prize will arrange a series of dates for the jury to visit the studios of the artists selected for the long list. At this point, the process is no longer anonymous. The dates will be arranged between June 14–23, 2019. If an artist is not in Berlin at the time of the studio visits, it is possible to have a third party represent the artist. If the artist does not have a studio, we will work with the artist to find a suitable alternative location for the visit. The artist will be responsible for transporting their work to and from the alternate location as well as installation.

In this second phase the jury will nominate nine artists from the long list of fifteen artists, whose works will be shown in the Berlin Art Prize 2019 exhibition. The Berlin Art Prize offers a compensation of fifty Euro per artist who is on the longlist, but not chosen for the exhibition.

 

III. Solo Exhibition

For the final phase, it must be possible for the artists to realize a solo exhibition in one of the nine project spaces. The jury and the organizational team of the Berlin Art Prize will match the artists to the spaces in June 2019. The solo exhibition will then be developed by a mentor from the Berlin Art Prize team in close cooperation with the nominees and the project space directors. The nominees must deliver the selected works themselves and should feel responsible for assisting in the execution and installation of their exhibition. The Berlin Art Prize will provide organizational and financial support for the development of the solo exhibitions. The nominees should deliver their artworks themselves between August 23–25, 2019 and be ready for installation between August 26–29, 2019 for the openings on August 30/31, 2019. If an artist is not present at this time, a third party can assist in the delivery. We strongly recommend the presence of the artist for the installation.

The winners of the Berlin Art Prize 2019 will be chosen by the jury during the exhibition and announced at the end of the exhibitions during an award ceremony. The jury will justify their selection of the winners in a short text.

The exhibitions in one of the nine project rooms will be open for four weeks. After the exhibition, the artworks must be dismantled and collected by the artists or their representatives between September 29–October 1, 2019.

 

IV. The Prize

All Berlin Art Prize nominees will receive a 1500 € (net) fee. The three winners of the Berlin Art Prize will also be awarded with a cash prize, a trophy created for the occasion by a Berlin-based artist Saâdane Afif, and an invitation to a residency in Winter/Spring 2020 at 80121 Napoli in Napoli, Italy. Flights and accommodation will be covered by the Berlin Art Prize. Any additional costs, including food and travel during the residency, will be the responsibility of the prize winners. Participation in the residency is not obligatory.

 

V. Downloads

Application Form
FAQs

Preis

9 Projekträume
9 Nominierte
9 Einzelausstellungen

Die sechste Ausgabe des Berlin Art Prize startet mit einem neuen Ausstellungskonzept: In Zusammenarbeit mit neun Projekträumen der Stadt werden die diesjährigen Nominierten ihre Arbeit in Einzelausstellungen präsentieren. Sie finden alle zeitgleich im September statt und werden von einem diskursiven Rahmenprogramm begleitet. Damit weitet der Berlin Art Prize e.V. das Vorhaben eines unabhängigen Kunstpreises zu einem großen Kollaborationsprojekt in der freien Szene aus.

Trophäe von Saâdane Afif
Residency bei 80121 Napoli

Eine fünfköpfige Jury wählt die Nominierten nach einem anonymen Verfahren aus und kürt im Anschluss an ihre Einzelausstellung drei Gewinner*innen. Am Abend des 27. September werden die drei Preisträger*innen des Berlin Art Prize 2019 bei einer Verleihungszeremonie im Atelierhaus des Flutgraben e.V. bekannt gegeben. Sie erhalten ein Preisgeld, die Einladung zu einer Residency – und eine Trophäe.

Deadline: 30. April 2019

Die Bewerbungsphase hat begonnen. Jede*r Künstler*in, die seit mindestens sechs Monaten in Berlin lebt, kann sich bewerben.

Jury

Julieta Aranda
(Künstlerin & Autorin)
Krist Gruijthuijsen
(Kurator & Autor)
Käthe Kruse
(Künstlerin & Musikerin)
Henrike Naumann
(Künstlerin)
Laurie Rojas
(Kritikerin)

Projekträume

Bewerbung

Jede Künstler*in, die seit mindestens sechs Monaten in Berlin lebt, kann sich für den Berlin Art Prize 2019 bewerben.

Bewerbungsdeadline: 30. April 2019, Mitternacht
Einzelausstellung der Nominierten: 30./31. August – 27. September 2019
Preisverleihung: 27. September 2019

Ausstellungshonorar für Nominierte: 1.500 Euro netto
Bewerbungsgebühr: 10 Euro

 

I. Einreichung

Alle Künstler*innen, die teilnehmen möchten, sollten eine eigene Auswahl ihrer Arbeiten von maximal fünf Kunstwerken einreichen. Es ist nicht notwendig, neue Arbeiten für den Berlin Art Prize zu entwickeln – die Arbeiten sollen bereits produziert, aber nicht älter als fünf Jahre sein. Die Deadline ist der 30. April 2019 um Mitternacht.

Eine Bewerbung für den Berlin Art Prize ist ausschließlich per E-Mail möglich. Bitte senden Sie dazu ein Portfolio mit bis zu fünf Arbeiten (gegebenenfalls mit bis zu vier Bildern pro Arbeit) in einer einzelnen PDF-Datei (max. 15 MB). Zusätzliche Sound- oder Videodateien bitten wir ausschließlich über die Plattform WeTransfer oder einen vergleichbaren Versanddienstleister zu schicken. Der entsprechende Link dazu sollte in die E-Mail mit der Bewerbung eingefügt werden, bitte den Downloadlink nicht in die PDF-Datei und auch nicht in eine gesonderte E-Mail einfügen. Bitte senden Sie nur Sound- oder Videodateien, wenn diese künstlerische Arbeiten sind, bitte keine Dokumentationen.

Wir bitten ausdrücklich darum, der Bewerbung keinen Lebenslauf beizufügen. Es gibt die Möglichkeit im Portfolio ein Statement zu den eingereichten Kunstwerken einzufügen. Das Statement kann sowohl eine allgemeine Beschreibung der künstlerischen Position als auch eine Erläuterung zu den einzelnen Kunstwerken umfassen. Wir empfehlen ca. 100 Wörter zur allgemeinen künstlerischen Praxis und ca. 75 Wörter zu einzelnen Kunstwerken, die eingereicht werden (insgesamt max. eine Seite, die der Portfolio-PDF beigefügt werden).

Um ein anonymes Auswahlverfahren zu garantieren, ist es notwendig, dass keine Namen innerhalb des Portfolios oder Statements erwähnt werden. Bewerbungen, die im Text oder den Bildunterschriften Namen der Künstler*innen oder Hinweise auf Galerien, Kurator*innen, Ausstellungen, Preise, Schulen etc. enthalten, werden disqualifiziert. Es ist auch möglich, Hinweise auf Name, Institution und Hintergrund zu schwärzen oder mit allgemeinen Bezeichnungen wie “die Künstlerin”, “der Ausstellungsort” oder “die Hochschule” zu ersetzen.

Die Bewerbung sollte somit enthalten:

a) Eine einzelne PDF-Datei, in der die Abbildungen von den Kunstwerken und das optionale Künstlerstatement zusammengefügt sind. Bitte erwähnen Sie ihren Namen an keiner Stelle in der Datei ein – nur der Name der Datei sollte Ihren Namen enthalten (VornameNachname). Diese Bezeichnung ist notwendig, um die Datei einfach anonymisieren zu können und somit einen wichtigen Bestandteil des Preises zu garantieren. Die Datei mit den Abbildungen und dem Statement sollte nach folgendem Muster benannt sein:

VornameNachname_Portfolio
Beispiel: RitaSuessmuth_Portfolio

b) Das komplett ausgefüllte Bewerbungsformular (siehe Downloadlink unten) als PDF-Datei. Diese Datei sollte nach folgendem Muster benannt sein:

VornameNachname_Application
Beispiel: RitaSuessmuth_Application

c) Wenn Sie Sound- oder Videodateien via WeTransfer senden, schicken Sie den dazugehörigen Link bitte mit Ihrer E-Mail und nicht im Portfolio. Die Sound- oder Videodateien sollten nach folgendem Muster benannt sein:

VornameNachname_Werktitel
Beispiel: RitaSuessmuth_Werktitel

d) Ein Screenshot, der die Zahlung der Bewerbungsgebühr dokumentiert, in Form einer PDF- oder JPG-Datei. Dieser sollte folgend bennant sein.

VornameNachname_Fee
Beispiel: RitaSuessmuth_Fee

Wir behandeln sämtliche Daten der Bewerber*innen streng vertraulich!

Einsendeschluss ist der 30. April 2019 um Mitternacht (23.59Uhr). Senden Sie bitte die Bewerbungsdokumente gebündelt in einer einzelnen E-Mail an:

apply(at)berlinartprize.com

Für weitere Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an die Adresse contact(at)berlinartprize.com. Verwenden Sie bitte die Adresse apply(at)berlinartprize.com nur für die Einsendung der Bewerbung.

Bewerbungsgebühr:

Zur Realisierung des Berlin Art Prize sind wir auf Ihre Bewerbungsgebühr angewiesen. Ihr Beitrag von 10 Euro dient dazu, die organisatorische Infrastruktur zu decken, von der Bearbeitung aller Einreichungen bis hin zu den Kosten der Jurysitzungen. Der Beitrag von zehn Euro kann per Paypal oder Überweisung bezahlt werden.

Bitte fügen Sie einen Screenshot Ihrer Zahlungsbestätigung über 10 Euro als PDF oder JPG ihrer Bewerbung anbei. Bewerbungen ohne Zahlungsnachweis können nicht berücksichtigt werden. Bitte benennen Sie den Screenshot VornameNachname_Fee (z.B. RitaSuessmuth_Fee)

Sollte es Ihnen nicht möglich sein, die Bewerbungsgebühr von 10 Euro aufzubringen, so kontaktieren Sie uns bitte bis spätestens 27. April 2019 mit einer kurzen Begründung unter financialdifficulties@berlinartprize.com. Es ist uns in einigen Fällen möglich, die Gebühr zu erlassen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie eine Bestätigung des Berlin Art Prize e.V. benötigen, sollten Sie sich ohne Gebühr bewerben. Ohne Nachweis ist die Bewerbung ungültig.

Jede Spende über den Unkostenbeitrag von 10 Euro hinaus nehmen wir dankbar entgegen. Die Spenden sind steuerlich absetzbar, der Berlin Art Prize e.V. ist gemeinnützig.

Zahlungsinformationen:

Betrag: Zehn Euro

PayPal: paypal@berlinartprize.com

Berlin Art Prize e.V.
EthikBank
BLZ: 83094495
Kontonummer: 3237516
BIC: GENO DE F1 ETK
IBAN: DE84 8309 4495 0003 2375 16

 

II. Auswahl

Nach dem Ende der Bewerbungsfrist wird in einem blinden Verfahren eine erste Auswahl von ungefähr 15 Künstler*innen getroffen. Alle Bewerber*innen werden bis zum 31. Mai 2019 benachrichtigt, ob ihre Arbeiten für die Longlist nominiert wurden. Die Bewerber werden über die E-Mail-Adresse informiert, mit der sie sich beworben haben.

Um zu garantieren, dass die Jury die Originalwerke vor der endgültigen Nominierung sehen kann, wird der Berlin Art Prize e.V. Jurybesuche in den Studios derjenigen Künstler*innen arrangieren, die in der ersten Phase für die Longlist ausgewählt wurden. An diesem Punkt ist der Prozess nicht länger anonym. Die Jurybesuche werden zwischen dem 14.–23. Juni 2019 stattfinden. Falls ein/e KünstlerIn zur Zeit der Studio Visits nicht in Berlin sein sollte, kann eine dritte Partei den/die Künstler*in repräsentieren. Falls der/die Künstler*in kein Studio oder Atelier haben sollte, arbeiten wir gemeinsam daran, einen alternativen Ort für den Besuch zu finden. Der/Die Künstler*in ist jedoch für den Transport und die Installation der Kunstwerke an diesem Alternativort selbst verantwortlich.

In dieser zweiten Phase wird die Jury 9 der 15 Künstler*innen für die Einzelausstellungen des Berlin Art Prize 2019 auswählen. Der Berlin Art Prize e.V. bietet den nicht mehr für die Shortlist nominierten Künstler*innen eine Aufwandsentschädigung in Höhe von 50 Euro.

 

III. Einzelausstellung der Nominierten

Für die finale Phase muss es den Künstler*innen möglich sein, eine eigene Einzelausstellung in einem der neun Projekträume umzusetzen. Die Zuordnung auf die Räume erfolgt seitens der Jury und des Organisationsteams des Berlin Art Prize e.V. im Juni 2019. Die Einzelausstellung wird dann eine Mentorin des Berlin Art Prize e.V. in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den jeweiligen Nominierten und den Projektraumbetreiber*innen entwickeln. Die Nominierten müssen die ausgewählten Arbeiten selber anliefern, und sollten sich für den Aufbau ihrer eigenen Ausstellung verantwortlich fühlen. Organisatorisch und finanziell wird der Berlin Art Prize den Aufbau der Einzelausstellung unterstützen. Die Nominierten sollten ihre Kunstwerke zwischen dem 23. und 25. August 2019 selber anliefern und für den Aufbau zwischen dem 26. und 29. August 2019 bis zu den Eröffnungen am 30./31. August bereitstehen. Falls ein/e Künstler*in zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht anwesend ist, kann eine dritte Partei die Lieferung übernehmen. Für den Aufbau ist die Anwesenheit des/der Künstler*in notwendig.

Die Gewinner des Berlin Art Prize 2019 werden während der Ausstellung von der Jury ausgewählt und am Ende der Ausstellung während einer Verleihungszeremonie bekannt gegeben. Die Jury wird ihre Entscheidung in einem kurzen Text begründen.

Die Ausstellung in einem der neun Projekträume wird während ihrer vierwöchigen Dauer beaufsichtigt sein. Nach der Ausstellung müssen die Kunstwerke zwischen dem 29. September und dem 1. Oktober 2019 von den Künstler*innen oder Vertreter*innen derselben abgebaut und abgeholt werden.

 

IV. Preis

Alle Nominierten erhalten ein Ausstellungshonorar i.H.v. 1.500 Euro netto. Alle drei Gewinner*innen des Berlin Art Prize erhalten zusätzlich ein Preisgeld, eine eigens für den Anlass kreierte Trophäe von Saâdane Afif sowie die Einladung zu einer vierwöchigen Residency in Neapel, im Frühjahr 2020, die der Berlin Art Prize e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit 80121 Napoli organisiert. Weitere Informationen zu der Residency werden mit der Nominierung bekannt gegeben. Für Anreise und Unterbringung kommt der Berlin Art Prize e.V. auf. Für alle weiteren Kosten, etwa für die Verpflegung sowie Reisen in die Umgebung, kommen die Teilnehmer selbst auf. Die Teilnahme an der Residency ist nicht verpflichtend.

 

V. Downloads

Bewerbungsformular Berlin Art Prize 2019
FAQs Berlin Art Prize 2019