9 Project Spaces
9 Nominees
9 Solo Exhibitions

The Berlin Art Prize e.V. presented the work of its annual nominees five times in group exhibitions in central locations throughout the city. This year, it also highlighted the places where independent, emerging art can be found in Berlin: For its sixth edition, Berlin Art Prize e.V. featured nine nominees in nine project spaces and nine solo exhibitions from August 30 to September 27, 2019. The exhibitions are accompanied by a discursive supporting program. Thus, it expands the intention of an independent art prize into a major collaboration with the independent scene.

<p>Trophy:<em> “Grigri”,</em> 2019, Saâdane Afif</p>
<p> </p>

Trophy: “Grigri”, 2019, Saâdane Afif


The nominees were chosen through an open call, followed by an anonymous selection process and studio visits with the jury. The jury announced the three winners during a midnight ceremony on September 14. The winners received prize money, an invitation to a one-month residency in Naples, and a trophy created by Saâdane Afif. More precisely, this year’s winners each received ten trophies in an ordinary shopping net. Saâdane Afif had ordered the inexpensive Oscar copies from the internet and had a different African proverb engraved on each one, which in its simplicity and wisdom, is far removed from any competitive spirit. For example: “If you wait for tomorrow, tomorrow comes. If you don’t wait for tomorrow, tomorrow comes.”